Life & death

β€œMental pain is less dramatic than physical pain, but it is more common and also harder to bear. The frequent attempt to conceal mental pain increases the burden: it is easier to say β€œMy tooth is aching” than to say β€œMy heart is broken.” 
― C.S. Lewis,Β The Problem of Pain

Hey lovers

Today my heart is very sad.

This morning, Β my day started off very well. Β At 7am Shekinah gave birth to 3 kittens. Β 2 little white ones and 1 grey one like herself.

I Β was beyond myself. Β I wanted to shout to the world, Β I’m a grandma!

Knowing that most people in my life don’t get the excitement (and perhaps think it a little silly that a human can act as if her cat is her child) I immediately knew that somewhere on this blog sphere there would be that one person who would get me! Because on WordPress, we each can find our own kind.

I started typing the most wonderful post ever. Β The type of post where people can feel your euphoria through mere words.

Now I’m sitting with this knot in my throat. Β You know that feeling when you want to cry, Β but just can’t.

My favourite one died. Β It was the one that looked exactly like Shekinah.

Shekinah when she was a baby

Shekinah when she was a baby

Β 

I’ve found the little body now.  😦

I wanted to take an #ootd of today and include the kittens and Shekinah, Β but I’m suddenly not Β up to it. Crying myself to sleep tonight.

Instead, I included yesterday’s #ootd

IMG_20151012_075000

2015-10-12-07-59-26-369

23 thoughts on “Life & death

  1. Awww *hugs* I’m so sorry! I went through a similar thing when our eldest cat had her first litter of kitties. It’s just heartbreaking! I cried so much because, like you, I saw them like they were my own children/grandchildren. You just be there for Shekinah and the other kitties and let them know they’re loved. Sending love and hugs to you and the kitties. I hope you’re all ok.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Awwh so sorry to read the loss of the little kitten Chantal. Losing an animal (regardless of age) is super tough, effects you for weeks on end 😦 Just give the others a few extra cuddles and focus on helping mama cat raise her babies – you’re a great team. Sending hugs XXXXXXX

    Liked by 2 people

  3. So sorry for the little one that didn’t make it. It does hurt our heart to lose the baby, and yes, our pets are our babies. We’ve lost two of our older cats this year, and it’s never easy…so much crying. Saying a prayer for the little lost one, and wishing Shekinah the joys of motherhood with the two babies she has. I’m sure they’re adorable. Hugs for you, Chantal, and much love ❀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hey Weena! Losing two older cats must have been really hard! I’m so sorry to hear that. And thank you for sharing your feelings, it makes me feel better. So much crying. Thank you for the wishes! The remaining two are really adorable. Shekinah is a pro at this mother thing, even though it’s her first time. Sending lots of love back at you πŸ’πŸ’ŸπŸ’žπŸ’šπŸ’›πŸ’œπŸ’πŸ’

      Like

      • Hi, Chantal! Hope everything is looking a bit brighter for you today. Hope Shakinah and the little ones are doing ok too. Sending peaceful thoughts your way…<3xo

        Like

  4. Sorry for your loss pets are family and so its only natural to feel the way you do. We gain an love and bond from them that goes so deep due to our understanding and interdependence on one another. I pray you find comfort! {HUGZ}

    Like

  5. Pingback: I recovered a piece of my brain | Chantal and Shekinah

Leave a Reply

